The nexus point

As I sit here I am looking at the clock and thinking about my 1 pm and my 3 pm appointments. You see I am a clinical social worker and these two people represent the very first individuals to which I have been assigned by my practice collective. They are my first real clients.

So I'm nervous a little, I've gone over my notes several times and done some administrative work in anticipation and I am still a bit ancy so I thought I'd post something.

...........................

7 years, 4 months and a few days ago I was sitting at Chuck's Hop Shop near Greenlake enjoying a pint of something no doubt delicious when a text that changed my life came in. It was Bernel who was the attorney at the Seattle Symphony/Benaroya Hall and the Seattle Art Museum and would I like to be his paralegal intern. Sure I said, gulping down the beer, inwardly giddy as fuck.

Why, because my first day of my very first year of college was still three weeks away. I had scored prestige internships before setting foot in one classroom at Highline College.

I loved working for Bernel and the two organizations. My office was in the basement of the Seattle Asian Art Museum in Volunteer Park, a lovely art deco building where the hand rails and toilet paper dispensers were art. I'm sitting here thinking about these two people I am about to work with and the work I am about to embark upon and I must say I'm dumbstruck to be here now. To quote Bob Marley

“don't worry about a thing, 'cause every little thing gonna be alright”

He was right. There were stones on the road here and there as well as some interesting side routes, but this is approximately where I envisioned myself during my BA work and I began to dream big and reflect on the life I wanted.

Blood, sweat and tears, loss, love, triumph, impact, learn, serve... it sounds pithy but I discovered this is what I wanted and somehow magically (maybe some hard work) I arrived here, today.

Wow! Seven months to go...