Dear Blog of Mine

I am deeply sorry I have been away for several days. You see I am a graduate student and sometimes my time is not my own. I stay so busy the last thing I want to do is spend time in front of my Mac staring at a bright screen.

It does not mean I do not love you or value your place in my life. I cherish the freedom you give me to just write little bits without any of the structures academic or “professional” writing imposes on people like me who make our tea and biscuits as working “professionals” where writing is a significant part of it.

So do not be mad or sad. I am not abandoning you. In the interests of full disclosure and radical honesty I should let you know that this may be the state of affairs at times in our relationship. We did agree to be polyam and have other creative and professional projects.

To anyone reading this (although who would be?) this just is the way it is. Often my time is not my own. Now that I am a married woman I have even less and want to give some of my energy and time to enjoying the life affirming benefits of being with the one you love. Dinner, snuggling, staying in bed, making coffee, taking walks, sharing favorite art, as well as romance and sex.

To make up for my repeated absences I promise to leave you some stories and screeds. Liberally peppered with sex of course... not really, but maybe.

..................................................................................... I've been listening to a lot of Joni Mitchell lately. Today's ear worm:

“Doctors' pills give you brand new ills And the bills bury you like an avalanche And lawyers haven't been this popular Since Robespierre slaughtered half of France! And Indian chiefs with their old beliefs know The balance is undone, crazy ions You can feel it out in traffic Everyone hates everyone And the gas leaks And the oil spills And sex sells everything Sex kills”

Sex Kills by Joni Mitchell (1994)